Further to the signing on May 28th, 2015 of visa waiver agreements between the European Union and the following countries:

-  Dominica
-  Grenada
-  Saint Lucia
-  Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
-  Trinidad and Tobago

The bearers of ordinary / official / diplomatic passports issued by the authorities of these 5 countries will from May 28th, 2015 onwards no longer require a visa to travel to the Schengen area for short stays of up to 90 days (over a period of 180 days).

Answers to most questions regarding the new visa-free travel regime can be found in the FAQ devised by the EU Delegation to Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean

This Embassy would like to draw travelers’ attention to the fact that verification upon arrival may be randomly carried out by immigration staff at Schengen ports of entry and that it is therefore highly recommended to be in possession of most of the documents previously required to obtain a visa, specifically:

-  Job letter
-  Paid return ticket to country of residence
-  Proof of financial means
-  Proof of accommodation
-  Travel/health insurance

Public is reminded that the Schengen area does not comprise the French overseas territories, therefore a visa may still be required to enter these territories according to the applicant’s nationality.

Persons who have recently applied for and obtained a Schengen visa through this Embassy are hereby advised that this Embassy will not be liable to refund visas already issued in prevision of a travel to take place after the visa exemption comes into force, this Embassy being required to apply visa regulations as they are at the time the visa enquiry/application is made and regardless of when applicants are due to travel.

For more information, please visit the EU Delegation to Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean website

Dernière modification : 29/05/2015

top of the page